Trunch TG 28 34
Norfolk E of A149 about 3 m N of North Walsham
In use Contact - none known

Click to view larger - St B Trunch E.jpg

St Botolphs, Trunch is a largely Decorated and Perpendicular style church and has Nave, north and south aisles, Chancel, west square tower with diagonal buttresses, and south porches to both main and chancel doors. The Chancel porch has a butress springing from the roof - a very rare structure. The oldest part of the Church is probably the Chancel, which is early 14th Century with later additions. It is large and reputed to have been used as a chapel by the monks of Bromholm Abbey and, in the period 1646-1750, as a village schoolroom. The chancel roof was rebuilt in 1907. Lord Nelsonís daughter Horatia married Philip Ward, the son of Marmaduke Ward, a curate of Trunch for thirty-seven years. Her tombstone is in the chancel, although covered by carpet when we visited. The very tall Nave, perhaps rebuilt about 1380, has a hammerbeam roof. There are two brasses in the centre aisle from about 1500 and 1530. Another from 1473 has been removed to the British Museum. Undoubtedly the unique attraction of this church is the Font canopy. Dating from c.1500, it is ornately carved in oak, and has slender pillars forming a hexagonal enclosure. It is one of only four to be found in England, the others being Durham Cathedral 1680, St. Peter Mancroft, Norwich 1450, and St. Maryís, Luton 1350. There are traces of former guilding and painting and the six buttressed legs are carved with twisting foliage to support a vaulted and fan-traceried ceiling.
© Copyright Peter Buttle 30 March 2002

Updated 31 March 2002

Return to index